top of page

Anita Ballek-East Haddam Land Trust Scholarship Fund


Initiated in 1999, the Fund financially supports East Haddam students pursuing environmental studies in higher education. The scholarship is awarded annually to one graduating Nathan Hale-Ray High School senior who has demonstrated civic-mindedness and has submitted an essay on their intention to pursue studies in environmental sciences. Past recipients have gone on to ‘green’ careers in horticulture, forestry, and other environmentally-minded areas.
Interested students should apply digitally using the information sent out by the high school counseling office. All applications forwarded by the counseling office to the Land Trust’s scholarship committee will be reviewed. The award will be announced through the counseling office.
The Anita Ballek-East Haddam Land Trust Scholarship honors the land stewardship and horticultural work of life-long East Haddam resident and Land Trust founding director Anita Ballek. Anita's family is continuing her tradition but additional donations to the Scholarship Fund help us increase the amount of the award.
Past Recipients (most recent recipient listed first)
  • Ella Rogers

  • Julia Freeman, Luke Kindel

  • Morgan Fuhrmann

  • Katherine Ryan

  • Emily Rottino

  • Jordan Bristol

  • No Award

  • Justin Fiala

  • Heather Kwosowski

  • Hunter Humble

  • Elizabeth Schoell

  • Allison Ballek

  • Cody Lorentson

  • Drew Walter

  • Kelsey Humble

  • Casey Martin

  • Derek Schwab

  • Jessica Morris

  • Kaitlyn McNelly

  • No Award

  • Charles LaVoie

  • Greg Berndtson

  • Jess Gowac

  • Bryan Ingalls


Support the Fund

Help future students follow their 'green' dream career with a contribution to the scholarship fund.


Mail contributions to:

PO Box 122, East Haddam, CT 06423


or visit Donate to make a donation online. Please note that your donation is for the scholarship fund. All donations are tax-deductible.



bottom of page